About the Rhode Island Dental Association

The Rhode Island Dental Association (RIDA) was founded in Providence on July 2, 1878 by a group of seven dentists.

Today, more than 500 members belong to the Association. We are part of a three-level professional dental organizational structure which includes the American Dental Association (ADA) - the national organization; RIDA - a constituent society chartered by the ADA, and three component dental societies throughout Rhode Island; Northern, Southern, and Central.

The object of the Association is to improve the dental health of the public and to promote the art and science of dentistry.

The Executive Office is located in Warwick, Rhode Island under the supervision of the Executive Director, Aaron Guckian.

The Rhode Island Dental Association is a proud associate member of The Substance Use and Mental Health Leadership Council (SUMHLC) of RI.

The mission of SUMHLC of RI is to promote a collaborative, coordinated system of high quality, comprehensive community-based mental health and substance abuse prevention and treatment services.